New Wind Band Version of Gregson Horn Concerto to be Premiered

July 14, 2008

A new version of Edward Gregson’s Horn Concerto for large wind ensemble is to be premiered at the International Horn Symposium to be held at the University of Denver, Lamont School of Music, on 26 July 2008. The soloist will be Frank Lloyd with the Hong Kong Academy of Performing Arts Wind Ensemble. The publisher is Chester Music.…

Read More

Manchester Premiere for Gregson ‘Choral Symphony’

June 25, 2008

Manchesters Bridgewater Hall is the venue for the Manchester premiere on Thursday July 3rd of Edward Gregson’s ‘symphony’ for chorus and orchestra The Dance, forever the Dance.
The Royal Northern College of Music Symphony Orchestra and Chorus will be conducted by Martyn Brabbins, with
Anna Burford as the mezzo soprano soloist. Messiaen’s massive Turangalila Symphony will follow the
Gregson in the second half.

The Dance, forever the Dance was commissioned by the Hertfordshire Chorus and was premiered in 1999. The London premiere was given by the Bach Choir at the Royal Festival Hall in 2004. Gregson’s life-affirming work
is …

Read More

New Gregson work for UK Open Brass Band Championship in September

May 11, 2008

Martin Mortimer is delighted to announce that the test piece for the British Open Championship of September 2008 will be a new work from Edward Gregson. Entitled Rococo Variations this work, which is a joint commission by The Open and the Norwegian Brass Band Federation, with help from The Co-operative, will be Gregson’s first commissioned test piece for seventeen years. Since 1991 he has devoted his creative output mainly to orchestral music and has completed five orchestral concertos as well as other large scale works. His return to the brass band world is therefore doubly welcome.

Edward Gregson says: “I …

Read More

Edward Gregson to be Guest Conductor of University of Manchester Wind Orchestra

April 4, 2008

On Saturday 26th April, Edward Gregson is to be the guest conductor at a special concert at the Martin Harris Centre for Music and Drama, University of Manchester. He will be conducting 4 of his works- Concerto for Piano and Wind, Festivo, The Kings Go Forth and Metamorphoses.

Murray McLachlan will be the piano soloist for Gregson’s Concerto for Piano and Wind. He is Head of Keyboard at Chethams School of Music of which Edward Gregson is a governor, and has performed many of the composers’ works before.

Tickets for the concert are available from …

Read More