Three Songs

Programme Note

I wrote these songs, scored for baritone voice, horn, and string quartet, when I was a third year student at the Royal Academy of Music (RAM) in London. They are mainly reflective in style, within the English song tradition of Vaughan Williams and Britten.  The texts are by Robert Kent, Robert Frost and John Keats. They were first performed at a chamber music concert at the RAM in 1966.

Unfortunately, the Robert Frost Foundation refuses to give permission for his poems to be set to music, so the songs are unable to be performed.

Work Details

  • Date of Composition: 1966
  • Publisher: Unpublished
  • Genre:
  • Duration: 10'
  • Instrumentation: baritone, horn and string quartet
  • Text Author: Robert Kent, Robert Frost and John Keats

First Performance

  • Date: 1966
  • Venue: Dukes Hall, Royal Academy of Music
  • Performers:
    RAM students