Fanfare for the North

Programme Note

This fanfare, scored for four trumpets, four horns, three trombones, tuba, timpani and percussion, was commissioned by the Gateshead Garden Festival of 1990 and was first performed at the Royal Opening by HM The Queen, by London Brass Virtuosi, directed by David Honeyball.

The work was published by Novello in 2015 in a collected edition of fanfares and occasional pieces by Edward Gregson.


Download Programme Note

Work Details

  • Date of Composition: 1990
  • Publisher: Novello
  • Genre:
  • Duration: 1' 15"
  • Instrumentation: brass ensemble and percussion
  • Commission Information:
    Commissioned by the Gateshead Garden Festival

First Performance

  • Date: 1990
  • Venue: Gateshead Garden Festival
  • Performers:
    London Brass Virtuosi David Honeyball (conductor)