Cameos (trumpet and piano)

Programme Note

Cameos, a set of seven short pieces for trumpet and piano, was written in 1987 to a request from Brass Wind Publishing for a new work for trumpet and piano as part of a series of educational music by contemporary British composers.  With titles such as Serenade, Alla Marcia and Dance Macabre, the pieces are progressively wide-ranging in style, length and difficulty.  Cameos has become very popular with young players and are used regularly in music competitions and examinations all over the world. They have  been recorded by Gareth Small and Paul Janes on the Naxos label (Edward Gregson Instrumental Music – Naxos 8.574224)

Download Programme Note

Work Details

  • Date of Composition: 1987
  • Publisher: Brass Wind Publications
  • Genre:
  • Duration: 13'
  • Instrumentation: trumpet and piano
  • Commission Information:
    Brass Wind Publishing Company