Four young composers (aged between 14 and 25) were selected as finalists in a competition to commemorate the centenary year of PRS for Music and the 20th anniversary of the English Schools’ Orchestra.

The compositions of all four finalists were performed by the English Young Artists’ Sinfonia at the Apothecaries Hall in London on 28 November. Edward Gregson chaired the jury, and the winner, Leo Geyer, a former student of the RNCM who studied with David Horne, received his the award from Prince David of Georgia.