Three Matisse Impressions (recorder and ensemble version)

Programme Note

Three Matisse Impressions, in its original version for recorder and piano, was completed in 1993, and is dedicated to Alix Denzler, two of whose paintings were given to the composer and his wife. The work was composed as a small reciprocal gesture for these paintings (the artist is an enthusiastic recorder player). It is no coincidence that the title of the pieces refers to three well-known paintings by Matisse, an artist for whom the composer and the dedicatee share mutual admiration. The work is in three movements: Pastoral – Lux, Calme et Volupté – La Danse.

In 1997, the composer made a new version of Three Matisse Impressions for recorder, strings, harp and percussion. This version, which is dedicated to John Turner, was premiered by the dedicatee and the Northern Chamber Orchestra.

Download Programme Note

Audio Samples:


Works like ‘Three Matisse Impressions’ that also explore the world of impressionism clearly demonstrate the place such pieces have in the contemporary repertoire, not technically over-facing, but with much the players can find to express in a mainstream musical idiom that continues to serve the recorder well.

Andrew Mayes, The Recorder Magazine, Spring 2001

Work Details

  • Date of Composition: 1997
  • Publisher: Forsyth
  • Genre:
  • Duration: 10'
  • Instrumentation: treble recorder (sop)+perc(1)/hp/str

First Performance

  • Date: 1997
  • Venue: The Heritage Centre, Macclesfield, UK
  • Performers:
    Northern Chamber Orchestra John Turner (recorder)