Programme Note

Three Matisse Impressions, in its original version for recorder and piano, was completed in 1993, and is dedicated to Alix Denzler, two of whose paintings were given to the composer and his wife. The work was composed as a small reciprocal gesture for these paintings (the artist is an enthusiastic recorder player). It is no coincidence that the title of the pieces refers to three well-known paintings by Matisse, an artist for whom the composer and the dedicatee share mutual admiration. The work is in three movements:

PastoralLux, Calme et VoluptéLa Danse.

In 1997, I arranged a new version of the work for recorder, strings, harp and percussion. This version, which is dedicated to John Turner, was premiered by the dedicatee and the Northern Chamber Orchestra.

Written: 1993

treble recorder (+ sop) and piano

Genre: Instrumental

Publisher: Forsyth

Duration: 10'