Remember Me

Programme Note

Remember Me was commissioned by the Ida Carroll Trust for the 80th birthday celebrations of Sir John Manduell.

The composer writes: “I have always thought of Christina Rossetti’s moving poem Remember as a love poem, albeit a rather sad and thoughtful one. The combination I was asked to write for is an unusual one, but offers a composer a chance to create a particular sound world, something I have tried to achieve. I have followed the structure of the poem, a Petrarchan sonnet published in 1879, by setting the first eight lines rather ‘darkly’, but mirroring in the ensuing six lines the rather transforming change of mood; thus the music moves from darkness to light, one of the recurring musical gestures in my recent music.”

Download Programme Note

Audio Samples:

Work Details

  • Date of Composition: 2008
  • Publisher: Unpublished
  • Genre:
  • Duration: 6' 30"
  • Instrumentation: Soprano voice, recorder, oboe, violin and cello
  • Commission Information:
    Commissioned by the Ida Carroll Trust for John Manduell's 80th Birthday Concert; part of the Park Lane Group's season
  • Text Author: Christina Rossetti, from 'Remember'

First Performance

  • Date: 20 October 2008
  • Venue: Princess Alexandra Hall, Royal Over-Seas League, London, UK
  • Performers:
    Lesley-Jane Rogers (soprano), John Turner (recorder), Richard Simpson (oboe), Richard Howarth (violin), Rachel Jones (viola), Jonathan Price (cello)