Programme Note

Refrains for solo guitar was written at the request of Hector Quine, who was the editor of a series of easy guitar music published by Oxford University Press.  My work was one of seven by various British composers, including Arthur Wills, John Gardner and Bryan Kelly.  As the title suggests, Refrains has an opening majestic rhetorical idea which is repeated at various points throughout this short work.  This is interspersed with faster and rhythmic ideas.

The work is published in ‘Easy Modern Guitar Music Book 2’, edited by Hector Quine.

Written: 1982

solo guitar

Genre: Educational

Publisher: OUP

Duration: 4'