Piano Sonata in one movement

Programme Note

My Piano Sonata was written in 1983 and is dedicated ‘to Michael Tippett, with admiration’ It is, in fact, Tippett’s 2nd Piano Sonata which is the starting point for this work. The one movement structure consists of alternating Tempi (or blocks of music) which are constantly juxtaposed in a mosaic-like pattern. Each of the six Tempi has its own clearly defined musical character – from the opening rising arpeggios to strident octave figurations, from dance-like patterns to slow and rather sombre chords. These are moulded into a tri-partite form similar to the statement-development-recapitulation format, which is common to conventional sonata forms. It is, however, the dramatic nature of sonata form which is the main concern of my Sonata and it is, more than any other consideration, which provided the connection with Tippett and, of course, Beethoven.

Download Programme Note

Audio Samples:


From our own day came Edward Gregson’s Piano Sonata in one movement, which is divided into six blocks of varying tempi. On one level this is intriguing, even charming music – on another it is sinewy and uncompromising and calls for a player of huge technical accomplishment. McCabe’s performance did not disappoint of a piece of which he is an obvious champion.

A J Sicluna, South Wales Echo, December 1988

Work Details

  • Date of Composition: 1983
  • Publisher: Novello
  • Genre:
  • Duration: 17'
  • Commission Information:
    Richard Deering with funds from the Arts Counil of Great Britain

First Performance

  • Date: 1983
  • Venue: Purcell Room, South Bank Centre, London, UK
  • Performers:
    Richard Deering (piano)


Related News