Oboe Sonata

Programme Note

I wrote my Oboe Sonata in 1965 when I was a second year student at the Royal Academy of Music. The Sonata is in three movements following the usual pattern – fast, slow, fast.

As a young and aspiring composer I was obviously influenced at that stage by a number of composers and I am sure that this can be heard in this particular work. The most obviously influences are perhaps Poulenc, Hindemith and Bernstein. However, there is something of the English tradition in the lyrical slow movement. The first movement is structured in a contracted sonata form, whilst the last movement is an exuberant and highly rhythmic rondo exploiting the extravert side of the oboe.

Download Programme Note

Audio Samples:


I have always admired Gregson’s clean-cut lines, clear textures and bright open harmonies.  Although this oboe sonata dates from the very beginning of Gregson’s career… it is full of invention and exuberance.

Winds Magazine, 1988

Work Details

First Performance

  • Date: 1965
  • Venue: Royal Academy of Music, London, UK
  • Performers:
    Helen Powell (oboe) Edward Gregson (piano)


Related News