Gregson – Volume I


This is a disc for which you could develop a distinct liking. Of course, those initially attracted will be lovers of the sound of brass bands, with their creamy homogeneity, wordless cantabile, their wide variety of sonorities and the thrilling virtuoso playing. On this disc all these come as servants of some magnificent music. Edward Gregson is probably the doyen of brass band composers today….musically the heritage of this music is clear. Walton and Hindemith lie behind its clear construction, rhythmic energy and lyrical bursts….yet there’s an original and highly accomplished voice here, especially in the remarkable Horn Concerto – magnificently played by Frank Lloyd….and there’s one great tune – the glorious end of Connotations. ┬áHeart warming stuff!

Roderick Swanston, Classic CD, Feb 1993

Even with their own works not all composers make good conductors…From the remarkable standards of performance achieved by Edward Gregson on Part One of a project to record the complete works for brass band, no such criticism is appropriate…for Volume 1 Gregson has chosen four of his most heavyweight works, representing a two decade retrospective of his work for band since 1971….Doyen’s producers and engineers have used the vibrant acoustic of Dewsbury Town Hall to good effect.

Peter Bassano, The British Bandsman, 12 Dec 1992

Recording Details

  • Release Date: January 1, 1993
  • Release Number: DOYCD017
  • Amazon ASIN: B000000K1Q | US / UK
  • World of Brass: 24515
  • Record Label:

Included Works: